The Maldives

  • Sign up for our email newsletter to receive information on special offers and lastminute deals to Maldives.

    Format: HTML Text


Country name:  

conventional long form:

Republic of Maldives

  conventional short form:
  local long form:
Dhivehi Raajjeyge Jumhooriyyaa
  local short form:
Dhivehi Raajje
Government type: Republic
Capital: Male
Administrative divisions: 19 atolls (atholhu, singular and plural) and 1 other first-order administrative division*; Alifu, Baa, Dhaalu, Faafu, Gaafu Alifu, Gaafu Dhaalu, Gnaviyani, Haa Alifu, Haa Dhaalu, Kaafu, Laamu, Lhaviyani, Maale*, Meemu, Noonu, Raa, Seenu, Shaviyani, Thaa, Vaavu
Independence: 26 July 1965 (from UK)
National holiday: Independence Day, 26 July (1965)
Constitution: Adopted 7 August 2008
Legal system: Based on Islamic law with admixtures of English common law primarily in commercial matters; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal
Executive branch:

chief of state:

President Mohamed Nasheed (since 11 November 2008); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
head of government:

President Mohamed Nasheed (since 11 November 2008); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government


Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president and approved by Parliament


President elected by public (at least a 51% approval margin is required); president elected for a five-year term; election last held 29 October 2008 (next to be held 2013)

Legislative branch: Unicameral People's Council or Majlis (50 seats; 42 elected by popular vote, 8 appointed by the president; members serve five-year terms)
Elections: Last held 22 January 2005 (next to be held 2010)
Judicial branch: High Court
Political parties and leaders:

Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party
Maldivian Democratic Party
Republican Party
Adhaalath Party
Islamic Democratic Party

International organization participation: AsDB, C, CP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OIC, OPCW, SAARC, SACEP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTO
Diplomatic representation in the UN:

chief of mission: H.E. Mr. Ahmed Khaleel
chancery:800 2nd Avenue, Suite 400E, New York, NY 10017
telephone: [1] (212) 599-6195

Flag description: red with a large green rectangle in the centre bearing a vertical white crescent; the closed side of the crescent is on the hoist side of the flag
© 1998 - 2010 THEMALDIVES.COM | Maldives